Contact us 24/7 (202)-572-1020

DWI/DUI in Old Town Alexandria

In Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, intoxicated drivers can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). This is a serious offense that carries negative criminal and driving consequences. An experienced criminal defense attorney at S.L. England, PLLC can defend you from criminal charges and protect your driver's license.

First Offense DWI/DUI

In Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, the penalties for a first offense DWI can vary based on the driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the offense. The legal BAC limit for most drivers is 0.08 percent.

If a driver has a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.15 percent as indicated by a chemical test, they can be charged with a Class 1 Misdemeanor, which carries up to 12 months in jail and a mandatory minimum fine of $250.

If the driver's BAC is between 0.15 percent and 0.20 percent, the sentence increases to include a mandatory minimum five days in jail.

If the driver's BAC is over 0.20 percent, the driver faces a mandatory minimum ten days in jail.

Subsequent DWI/DUI Offenses

The penalties for subsequent DWI offenses in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, vary based on the date of the first offense and the driver's BAC.

If a driver commits a second DWI offense within five years of the first offense, and the driver's BAC is between 0.08 percent and 0.15 percent, the penalties include a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 20 days.

A second DWI offense committed between five and ten years of the first offense with a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.15 percent carries a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and a ten day mandatory minimum jail sentence. If the driver's BAC is between 0.15 percent and 0.20 percent, the mandatory minimum sentence increases by an additional ten days, and twenty days for a BAC over 0.20 percent.

A third offense within a ten year period is a Class 6 Felony and the driver may have to forfeit his or her vehicle. If the third offense occurs within five years of the second offense, the driver faces a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and a mandatory minimum jail sentence of six months. If the third offense occurs within ten years of the second offense, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 90 days.

Any fourth of subsequent offenses within 10 years faces a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and a mandatory minimum one year jail sentence.

Aggressive DWI/DUI Representation in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia

If you have been charged with DWI in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, you need aggressive legal representation to build a strong defense for you. Just because you are charged with DWI does not mean you are guilty. The criminal defense attorneys at S.L. England, PLLC, can challenge the basis of the traffic stop, the chain of custody, the collection of the test results, or the instruments used to determine your BAC. Every case is unique, and we will build the strongest defense for you. Call (202) 572-1020 or contact us online today.

Aggressive Representation

When you hire S.L. England, we will assign your case to a seasoned trial attorney that cares about getting results. We represent our individual clients as aggressively as represent our corporate business clients. Check our reviews on Google and Yelp to see what our clients have to say. We look forward to representing you.

Menu

Nav Map