Contact us 24/7 (202)-572-1020

Drug Crimes in Virginia

Being charged with a drug crime in Virginia may mean a long prison sentence or a high fine, depending on the amount and type of drug involved. This can affect your future for many years, but an experienced attorney from S.L. England, PLLC, will argue your case effectively in front of a judge or jury to protect your freedom.

Possession of Marijuana

A person in Virginia cannot knowingly or intentionally possess marijuana without a prescription from a licensed medical doctor. A person also cannot possess cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil without a valid written certification from a licensed medical doctor that specifies that the oil is used to alleviate symptoms of the person's diagnosed disease or condition.

Virginia law specifies that law enforcement cannot presume that a person knowingly or intentionally possesses marijuana if marijuana is found in their residence or their vehicle.

Possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a maximum fine of $500 for a first offense.

Possession of Controlled Substances

A person in Virginia cannot possess any controlled substance without a valid prescription from a licensed medical doctor. Like marijuana possession, law enforcement cannot presume that a person knowingly or intentionally possesses a controlled substance if one is found in their vehicle or residence.

The penalties for Possession of a Controlled Substance varies based on the Schedule of the controlled substance as defined by the Drug Control Act.

  • Possession of a Schedule I or Schedule II controlled substance is a Class 5 felony, punishable by one to ten years in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.
  • Possession of a Schedule III controlled substance is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
  • Possession of a Schedule IV controlled substance is a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
  • Possession of a Schedule V controlled substance is a Class 3 misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500.
  • Possession of a Schedule VI controlled substance is a Class 4 misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $250.

Manufacturing or Distributing a Controlled Substance

Virginia law specifies that a person may not "manufacture, sell, give, distribute, or possess with intent to manufacture, sell, give or distribute a controlled substance or an imitation controlled substance." The law also specifies that law enforcement can assume that a person intends to distribute the controlled substance if they possess an amount larger than what would be considered "personal use."

Penalties vary based on the type of drug manufactured, distributed, or sold. Prison times can range from five years to life, and fines may be as high as one million dollars.

Have You Been Charged With a Drug Crime in Virginia?

If you have been charged with a drug crime in Virginia or Washington, D.C., your future is at risk. In the most serious cases, hefty fines can affect your finances for many years. An aggressive, experienced attorney from S.L. England, PLLC, will build the strongest defense for you. Call us today at (202) 572-1020 or contact us online.

Aggressive Representation

When you hire S.L. England, we will assign your case to a seasoned trial attorney that cares about getting results. We represent our individual clients as aggressively as represent our corporate business clients. Check our reviews on Google and Yelp to see what our clients have to say. We look forward to representing you.

Menu